web without beginning and end

Legendary tennis pair Bryan brothers announce retirement

source:xsntime:2023-12-04 21:31:31

The Bryan brothers, tennis’s most successful doubles pair, have announced retirement, effective immediately. Identical twins Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, now 42, are leaving the sport in the same way they had won tournament after tournament in a decade spanning three decades — together.

Legendary tennis pair Bryan brothers announce retirement

The Bryans were not on the entry list for the US Open released last week.

Legendary tennis pair Bryan brothers announce retirement

Living legends.

Legendary tennis pair Bryan brothers announce retirement

Bob & Mike Bryan have called time on their incredible careers 👏@Bryanbrothers @bryanbros

— ATP Tour (@atptour) August 27, 2020

The Bryans leave the game as the most accomplished team in doubles history. They captured an Open Era record 119 trophies in 26 seasons, including all four Grand Slams, all nine ATP Masters 1000s and the Olympic gold medal.

They first ascended to No. 1 in the ATP Doubles Rankings on 8 September 2003. They spent a total of 438 weeks at the top and ended 10 seasons as the No. 1 team [2003, 2005-07, 2009-2014].

READ | US Tennis warns ‘no Bryan Brothers chest bumps’ during pandemic

Also Read
Jannik Sinner
Watch: Jannik Sinner wins a 46-shot rally against Tommy Paul
Alcaraz and Djokovic
Novak Djokovic and Carlos Alcaraz set to meet again in group stage of Dav...
Does Steffi Graf ever age? Husband Andre Agassi has the perfect reply
'Never been friends, never been close to Roger Federer': Novak Djokovic s...

They finish their legendary careers with a 1,108-359 team win-loss record.

Iconic team, iconic celebration 🙌

The Bryan brothers’ highlight reel is next level 😍@bryanbros @BryanBrothers pic.twitter.com/XfWGEnp019

— Tennis TV (@TennisTV) August 27, 2020

No other men’s doubles pair comes close to the numbers scripted by the Bryans. Australians Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodforde are a distant second in the Open era with 11 Grand Slam titles and 61 tour titles.

© IE Online Media Services Pvt Ltd